Art of the New Orleans Trio

Live at Luthjen's (2020)

a high quality record 

deserving of the attention

the Jazzology label can bring it.

– Joe Bebco

(Syncopated Times, U.S.A.)

Track Listing:

  1. City Park Swing
  2. Hello, Goodbye Blues
  3. The Cascades
  4. Trois Danses Des Jeunes
  5. Meet Me At The Eagle Saloon
  6. Let Me Call You Sweetheart
  7.  Alone At The Ball
  8. Old Sober March
  9. You’ll Be Cryin’ The Blues, Not Me
  10. Where a True Heart Waits For You
  11. Follow The Second Line
  12. Lonesome Me (with Jon-Erik Kellso – trumpet)

About This Music:

This is a recording...

Even though I first moved to New Orleans in 1994, this is the first studio recording of traditional New Orleans music under my own name actually recorded *in* New Orleans. The selections are originals, except for a Joplin rag, a parlor waltz, and a "bonus track" with Jon-Erik Kellso.

The original conception was to imagine a folio of 78's. There are two trios represented here that constitute my preferred instrumentations for performing in the traditional New Orleans style.

Album Info:

Release Date: October, 2020

Evan Christopher, clarinet 

Kris Tokarski, piano & Benny Amon, drums (tracks 1-6)

Don Vappie, guitar & Peter Harris, bass (7-11)

Special Guest Jon-Erik Kellso, trumpet on Lonesome Me

Recorded by David Stocker and Wesley Fontenot at The Parlor Recording Studio (New Orleans, LA) 

Mixed & Mastered by David Stocker
CD production for Jazzology Records by Lars Edegran & Evan Christopher

CD cover Live at Luthjens
CD cover A Summit in Paris
Bayou Chant & Other Textures